Posted by: katelyninfrance | December 9, 2010

Week of no texting- Day Four. Silliness and bullying.

I now have received so many texts that my memory is full and every time I get a new one I get a happy message telling me to freaking erase some. And they still keep coming. Should be fun on Monday to go through all of that, huh?

I’ve found that there have been more and more things I’ve been wanting to communicate via text. Sometimes they are stupid things- “HEY ABEL YESTERDAY THERE WERE SO MANY BOXES OF PIZZA YOU DON’T EVEN KNOW” and sometimes they serve more of a purpose, such as a reminder to myself to not miss my appointment with the dean, AGAIN. I am a fan of writing slightly cryptic messages hinting at a larger and also hilarious story to follow. However, I have been unable to write said messages, and thus said stories tend to be forgotten. So my hilarious story quota has been suffering quite a bit due to not being able to text. It’s a shame, really.

Texting is also useful when in a situation where for whatever reason, you cannot speak. Maybe you’re at a movie or a show that is really boring. As long as your phone is on silent, of course, texting can help the time go by faster. Or maybe your roommate is sleeping and you don’t want to wake them up. Or you’re in a monastery and if you talked you’d be smacked by the head monk. All of these are reasons why people might want to text.

Another thing that people sometimes do with texting is text someone about someone else who is in the room. I’ve seen quite a bit of bullying done through secret messages right around the unsuspecting person’s location. It isn’t always negative- perhaps the person is upset and you are genuinely concerned why, but don’t exactly want to bring up that topic in front of them. Then again, if you’re fed up with someone but don’t have the guts to say so to their face, sending a snide message to a friend can help you get it out of your system. Not necessarily a good thing, but it’s certainly done. I guess with all new forms of communication come new forms of bullying. Everyone knows about Facebook bullying, but perhaps there’s also text-message bullying? Especially with people giving out their phone numbers on social networking websites and to other people, it would be easy for a group of people to get together and “prank text” a classmate. And it would be rather difficult to help those being text-bullied, I imagine. We’d have to come up with entirely new ideas, perhaps more focused on personal issues such as self-esteem, since it’s hard to punish text from an invisible person. Interesting to think about, huh?

I’m running out of things to say here, so I think I’m gonna wrap it up. This entry seems marginally less awesome than the last three, and for that I apologize. Hopefully things will be better tomorrow? Maybe not? We’ll see. Bye guys!

Leave a Reply

Categories

